Jean-Claude Burgelman is presently Head of Unit Open Data Policy and Science Cloud and Chair of DG RTD Taskforce on Open Science. He joined the European Commission in 1999 as a Visiting Scientist in the Joint Research Centre (the Institute of Prospective Technological Studies - IPTS), where he became Head of the Information Society Unit in 2005. In January 2008, he moved to the Bureau of European Policy Advisers (attached to the president of the EC) as adviser for innovation policy. Since 1-10-2008, he joined DG RTD, as advisor and then Head of Unit in charge of top level advisory boards like the European Research and Innovation Area Board, the Innovation for Growth Group and the European Forum for Forward Looking Activities. 

Till 2000 he was full professor of communication technology policy at the Free University of Brussels, as well as director of the Centre for Studies on Media, Information and Telecommunication and was involved in science and technology assessment. He has been visiting professor at the University of Antwerp, the European College of Brughes and the University of South Africa and sits on several academic journals. He chaired the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on Innovation and was a member of its Science Advisory Committee.

Inês Fonseca worked as researcher in Environmental Modelling until 2014, when she started her current post as a Data Scientist and Policy Analyst in FCT, where she wrote an extensive study on Open Access and now contributes towards the monitoring of Open Access.


© 2016 por Ministério da Ciência, Tecnologia e Ensino Superior

(00351) 21 723 11 31 / 55


Palácio das Laranjeiras
Estrada das Laranjeiras, 197-205
1649-018 Lisboa